Society marks 59th season with Museum Opening Gala June 3

Museum docent training

You are here

S M T W T F S
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 10:00am

McHenry County Historical Society schedules training
 
UNION – The McHenry County Historical Society is hosting a docent training session at 10 a.m. Wednesday, Oct. 28, at the museum, 6422 Main St. You need not be a professional educator to participate. All you need is an interest in history and a willingness to share it with others.


The society provides training, as well as a docent guide.

Established in 1963, our members, staff and volunteers have 52-year track record rich in preservation, education, and entertainment contributions to McHenry County. We create learning experiences and events. We focus on local culture, organizational and family history. We collect and care for notable artifacts. We participate in the activities of like-minded organizations throughout McHenry County. You can help that effort by volunteering as a docent – chaperoning students or visiting groups as they tour the 1843 Gannon log cabin, 1895 West Harmony School and the 1870 historical museum. Plus, you get to learn about all those items you've wondered about for years!
Those interested in attending should reserve a spot by calling the office at 815-923-2267. 

The one-room West Harmony school is available for a two-hour visit by McHenry County third- through fifth-graders. Students participate in a turn-of-the-century school day complete with lessons in arithmetic, reading, penmanship, grammar, history, and games at recess. Times are 9 to 11 am, 9:30 to 11:30 a.m. and 10 a.m. to noon on Tuesdays and Wednesdays in the fall and spring. A more expansive, two-hour tour is available Thursdays and Fridays that includes West Harmony School, the museum and the log cabin. Available times are from 9 to 11 a.m., 9:30 to 11:30 a.m. or 10 a.m. to noon.

In both instances, schools are eligible for a $200 McHenry County Community Foundation grant to defray transportation costs. For more information visit www.mchenrycountyhistory.org.

Upcoming events

Museum Opening 2022

Friday, June 3, 2022 - 5:00pm

Vintage Base Ball Match

Saturday, June 11, 2022 - 2:00pm

FREE WEEK for residents of Algonquin

Tuesday, June 14, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, June 16, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, June 17, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 22, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, June 23, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, June 24, 2022 - 1:00pm

FREE WEEK for residents of Algonquin

Saturday, June 18, 2022 - 11:45am
Saturday, June 25, 2022 - 11:45am

35th Annual Heritage Fair

Sunday, July 10, 2022 - 9:00am

Heritage Fair Car Show

Sunday, July 10, 2022 - 9:00am

Free admission for Dorr, Dunham and Richmond Townships

Tuesday, July 12, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, July 13, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, July 14, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, July 15, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, July 19, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, July 20, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, July 21, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, July 22, 2022 - 1:00pm

Free admission for Dorr, Dunham and Richmond Townships

Saturday, July 16, 2022 - 12:30pm
Saturday, July 23, 2022 - 12:30pm

Vintage Base Ball Match

Saturday, July 30, 2022 - 2:00pm

Free Museum Admission for Spring Grove and Richmond Residents

Tuesday, August 16, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, August 18, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, August 19, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, August 23, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, August 24, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, August 25, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, August 26, 2022 - 1:00pm

Free Museum Admission for Spring Grove and Richmond Residents

Saturday, August 20, 2022 - 11:00am
Saturday, August 27, 2022 - 11:00am

Free admission for residents of Ringwood and Algonquin Township

Tuesday, September 6, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, September 7, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, September 8, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, September 9, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, September 13, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, September 14, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, September 15, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, September 16, 2022 - 1:00pm