Society marks 59th season with Museum Opening Gala June 3

Life Cycle of Clothing

You are here

S M T W T F S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
Monday, April 19, 2021 - 7:00pm

Presented by Erika Holst, curator of history at the Illinois State Museum. Americans invested a tremendous amount of labor into making and maintaining their wardrobes during the 19th century. Explore the life cycle of clothing during the 1800s: how it was created, mended, remade, washed, and ultimately recycled.

Holst, who has curated more than a dozen exhibitions during her more than 15 years in the field, will highlight examples of garments and artifacts from the Illinois State Museum’s collection. After the presentation, the audience will have an opportunity to share their own clothing experiences and reflect on more modern attitudes about apparel – such as “fast fashion” and discarding vs. mending.

To register click HERE.

Upcoming events

Museum Opening 2022

Friday, June 3, 2022 - 5:00pm

Vintage Base Ball Match

Saturday, June 11, 2022 - 2:00pm

FREE WEEK for residents of Algonquin

Tuesday, June 14, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, June 16, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, June 17, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 22, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, June 23, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, June 24, 2022 - 1:00pm

FREE WEEK for residents of Algonquin

Saturday, June 18, 2022 - 11:45am
Saturday, June 25, 2022 - 11:45am

35th Annual Heritage Fair

Sunday, July 10, 2022 - 9:00am

Heritage Fair Car Show

Sunday, July 10, 2022 - 9:00am

Free admission for Dorr, Dunham and Richmond Townships

Tuesday, July 12, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, July 13, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, July 14, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, July 15, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, July 19, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, July 20, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, July 21, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, July 22, 2022 - 1:00pm

Free admission for Dorr, Dunham and Richmond Townships

Saturday, July 16, 2022 - 12:30pm
Saturday, July 23, 2022 - 12:30pm

Vintage Base Ball Match

Saturday, July 30, 2022 - 2:00pm

Free Museum Admission for Spring Grove and Richmond Residents

Tuesday, August 16, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, August 18, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, August 19, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, August 23, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, August 24, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, August 25, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, August 26, 2022 - 1:00pm

Free Museum Admission for Spring Grove and Richmond Residents

Saturday, August 20, 2022 - 11:00am
Saturday, August 27, 2022 - 11:00am

Free admission for residents of Ringwood and Algonquin Township

Tuesday, September 6, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, September 7, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, September 8, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, September 9, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, September 13, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, September 14, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, September 15, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, September 16, 2022 - 1:00pm