Society marks 59th season with Museum Opening Gala June 3

Historic Schools of McHenry county

You are here

S M T W T F S
 
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 
 
 
 
Sunday, September 19, 2021 - 2:00pm

Robert Frenz, retired educator and historian from Crystal Lake, will discuss the role of one-room schools across McHenry County – especially in the Harvard area – during a 2 p.m. program Sunday, Sept. 19, for the Greater Harvard Area Historical Society, 308 N. Hart St. in Harvard. The museum, located in a former church, is located just east of Route 14. The museum is open from 1:30 to 4 p.m. Sundays. For information, call (815) 943-6141.

 

By 1877, more than 100 one-room schools were scattered across McHenry County’s rural landscape. Most farm children lived within two miles of one. In the early days, the family with the most school-aged children, by virtue of mere numbers, often had the luxury of a schoolhouse being located on their property. When those children were grown, the schoolhouse (not yet made of brick) was simply lifted and moved to another farmer’s property, nearly always at a crossroads.

By 1962 the country school era was over, leaving behind buildings, former students, teachers, trustees and so many memories associated with the personal kind of education associated with the rural schools.

To order a copy of Frenz' book on historic one-room schools, visit https://mchenrycountyhistory.org/schools-mchenry-county.

Upcoming events

Museum Opening 2022

Friday, June 3, 2022 - 5:00pm

Vintage Base Ball Match

Saturday, June 11, 2022 - 2:00pm

FREE WEEK for residents of Algonquin

Tuesday, June 14, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, June 16, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, June 17, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 22, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, June 23, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, June 24, 2022 - 1:00pm

FREE WEEK for residents of Algonquin

Saturday, June 18, 2022 - 11:45am
Saturday, June 25, 2022 - 11:45am

35th Annual Heritage Fair

Sunday, July 10, 2022 - 9:00am

Heritage Fair Car Show

Sunday, July 10, 2022 - 9:00am

Free admission for Dorr, Dunham and Richmond Townships

Tuesday, July 12, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, July 13, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, July 14, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, July 15, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, July 19, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, July 20, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, July 21, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, July 22, 2022 - 1:00pm

Free admission for Dorr, Dunham and Richmond Townships

Saturday, July 16, 2022 - 12:30pm
Saturday, July 23, 2022 - 12:30pm

Vintage Base Ball Match

Saturday, July 30, 2022 - 2:00pm

Free Museum Admission for Spring Grove and Richmond Residents

Tuesday, August 16, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, August 18, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, August 19, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, August 23, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, August 24, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, August 25, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, August 26, 2022 - 1:00pm

Free Museum Admission for Spring Grove and Richmond Residents

Saturday, August 20, 2022 - 11:00am
Saturday, August 27, 2022 - 11:00am

Free admission for residents of Ringwood and Algonquin Township

Tuesday, September 6, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, September 7, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, September 8, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, September 9, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, September 13, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, September 14, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, September 15, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, September 16, 2022 - 1:00pm