Society marks 59th season with Museum Opening Gala June 3

Heirloom Recipes from the Illinois State Fair

You are here

S M T W T F S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 
 
 
Monday, March 8, 2021 - 7:00pm

Highland Park’s Catherine Lambrecht, who was instrumental in founding the Greater Midwest Foodways Alliance and the Chicago Foodways Roundtable, will present Heirloom Recipes from the Illinois State Fair.

Attendees will be able to follow the judging experience on dishes ranging from cold beet soup to real Italian polenta meat sauce to chocolate sour cream pound cake. Lambrecht will share many of the award-winning recipes and welcomes beloved generational recipes from the audience, as well.

Since 2009, Lambrecht has judged heirloom recipe contests on behalf on behalf of the Alliance in Illinois - as well as Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Ohio, Minnesota, Missouri, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. She hopes to one day expand the effort to include North Dakota, Nebraska and Michigan.

But the project is less about the actual recipe and more about the family stories that surround it. Indeed, the accompanying stories account for half of the score.

“Without the story, there is no context,” Lambrecht said. “Someone can have a really good recipe but if they do not have anything to say about it, it’s not going to win.”

 

To register, click HERE.

(Registration closes at 4:30pm on March 8)

Upcoming events

Valor Quilt presentation

Thursday, May 19, 2022 - 2:00pm

Museum Opening 2022

Friday, June 3, 2022 - 5:00pm

Vintage Base Ball Match

Saturday, June 11, 2022 - 2:00pm

FREE WEEK for residents of Algonquin

Tuesday, June 14, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, June 16, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, June 17, 2022 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 22, 2022 - 1:00pm
Thursday, June 23, 2022 - 1:00pm
Friday, June 24, 2022 - 1:00pm

FREE WEEK for residents of Algonquin

Saturday, June 18, 2022 - 11:45am
Saturday, June 25, 2022 - 11:45am

35th Annual Heritage Fair

Sunday, July 10, 2022 - 9:00am

Heritage Fair Car Show

Sunday, July 10, 2022 - 9:00am

Vintage Base Ball Match

Saturday, July 30, 2022 - 2:00pm